Rebranding: the long and short.

Again, a smattering of projects… it has been tremendously busy here at the press since last October. A lot of that has been design, rather than printing. It has been a goal of mine to expand the design side of the business and refine (rather than simply reduce) the printing side of the business. That means, ahem, turning some work away on occasion.

A couple of big projects were rebrands. The first one was an RFP that I was awarded for rebranding the Olympia Food Co-op. Kind of a big deal for my one-person studio. It was a long process to get to final. I’d like to say that they picked the very best-designed or forward-reaching logo from the many options I offered, but with the selection process used, I think we came out with a strong logo that was on the conservative side, as it contains the germ of the old logo. Through survey results and staff feedback it became clear that comfort, familiarity, and a non-representational approach annoyed the fewest people.  I knew going into this process that a consensus organization with deep roots in Olympia history would perhaps be a little less agile in embracing an imaginative rebrand. Nonetheless, I’m still excited that now the new logo is accepted, we can move on with other more creative aspects of the rebrand including implementing the color palette, typefaces, illustrations and other design conventions into the Co-op’s design products. The Outreach team is excited to move ahead and get down to changing signage, the newsletter, advertisements, business cards, t-shirts and the lot.

I also had the opportunity over the winter to redesign the logo for my sister’s bamboo company, Booshoot. I designed her first logo back in 2002, and though she moved on to a second logo for several years, she was having trouble getting a great third logo out of a Seattle design firm. She asked me if I’d like to give it a whirl. I jumped at the chance. They were very happy with the very first concept I sent to them. Sometimes it’s quick and efficient like that. Sometimes, it’s not. I have already implemented the new logo for Booshoot in several design pieces, and have enjoyed printing the business cards for about fifteen executive employees.

I’m hip-deep into another Oly rebrand, which has been a very interesting study in itself. I hope to provide an overview of the process another time. Let’s just say… each client is different and has different needs.

A variety of other fun projects are below. Just a sample from what has been a very, very busy fall, winter, and spring!

CLICK to see the gallery images in full size…

Posted by

Owner, designer, printer at an historic letterpress printshop

4 thoughts on “Rebranding: the long and short.

    1. The only place to get one right now is to come up to the press and buy one. I’ve slacked off and failed to take them around the any stores, or get sleeves and backings for them. So if you would like one, come on up! You can call me at 357-3855 and we’ll figure out a good time.

      I just checked out your blog! Holy cow!!! I am SOOOOO hungry now. And…. can I move in with you? There’s so much good food goin’ on at your place…

  1. I blog quite often and I truly thank you for your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark
    your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.

    I opted in for your Feed as well.

Leave a Reply

